Quoteable Quiz Answers and Top 5 Movies..

Well, I guess it’s time to give the final answers to the Quoteable Quiz post.

It was a fun post and I think I got the most comments for any post EVA!

Answers to the ones that weren’t picked are:

1. Sin City – NO-ONE got this! I guess it’s not a stand out quote, but Clive Owen delivers it in this great movie.

4. Desperado – Another Robert Rodriguez movie that I can watch over and over. Steve Buscemi delivers this great line.

Coincidentally both of these films are directed by Robert Rodriguez who is one of my favourite directors, along with Kevin Smith and Quentin Tarantino.

In fact, if I try to name my Top 5 Movies, like Aurelius has tried, I think I would have trouble.

I think I’d base my favourite choices in groups. Sometimes by director, sometimes by time period, sometimes by genre.

So, firstly I would have Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs, Kill Bill and Death Proof. All great movies in their own right, but Pulp Fiction definitely sits at the top of the heap for me.

Then I would include Desperado, Once Upon a Time in Mexico, Dusk till Dawn and Sin City as a few of my favourites. All Robert Rodriguez movies. He has a similar style to QT, but brings his own imagery and Spanish feel to the movies.

Next director has to be Kevin Smith. Clerks 1 and 2, Dogma, Chasing Amy and Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back are all great. He may have slipped a little with Mallrats and Jersey Girl, but still remains one of my favourite film makers.

Then we come to the favourite movies of my youth. This may as well be a list of the best movies of the 80’s.

These include The Goonies, Ferris Buellers Day Off, Star Wars Trilogy, Superman Trilogy, Planes, Trains and Automobiles, The Great Escape, The Sound of Music, The Blue Brothers, Back to the Future Trilogy, Alien, Aliens, E.T., Indiana Jones Trilogy, Terminator 1 and 2, When Harry Met Sally, Karate Kid Trilogy, War Games, Stand By Me, Predator 1 and 2, Mannequin, Monty Python Movies, Ghostbusters 1 and 2, The Neverending Story, Labyrinth, Dark Crystal, The Lost Boys, Weird Science, Gremlins 1 and 2, Clue, Die Hard, Wayne’s World, The Godfather and Dead Poets Society.

There are probably more, but that’s all I could come up with now. Trying to sort through those and pick favourites would be too hard!

Then we have my favourite modern movies like Braveheart, Donnie Darko, The Lord of the Ring Trilogy, The Matrix Trilogy, Se7en, Usual Suspects, 12 Monkeys, Lock, Stock and 2 Smoking Barrels, Almost Famous, Spirited Away and recently No Country for Old Men.

See what I mean? Way too hard.

But you want me to suck it up and give it a go?

Ok, here we go.

Top 5. Movies that for one reason or another have had a major effect on me.

In no particular order.

  • Pulp Fiction
  • Braveheart
  • Die Hard
  • Donnie Darko
  • When Harry Met Sally

Ok…that’ll do.

What’s your Top 5?

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

4 responses to “Quoteable Quiz Answers and Top 5 Movies..

  • LaLa

    Is it saying something about us that When Haryr Met Sally is in your top five movies of all time list and I have never sat through it once?

  • Aurelius

    Is it just me who sees top five lists, and thinks of Rob Gordon?

  • Trish

    I can’t possibly narrow it down. And you never know what someone will deduce about your character when they see what your favourite movies are.

    It’s like wandering around with a trolley full of stuff at Woollies and bumping into an old school friend and hoping they correctly assume the sherry is for cooking and the All Bran is for your mother.

  • Mick

    Yeah, it’s not easy Trish. I decided that to get to a final 5, I had to pick movies that have come out while I’ve been old enough to appreciate them and to be affected by them on my first viewing.

    I thought about including, The Birds, Godfather, Casablanca and Great Escape, but just find it hard to see them as MY favourite movies cause they are so old.

    Weird huh?

    And LaLa….you will have to watch it with ME. Yes. You will.

    And Aurelius, Dang. Why didn’t I put High Fidelity in my lists somewhere? I know there are heaps I missed out on.

Leave a comment