Rooaaaarrr..

It’s been a few days, but I’ll tell ya where I’ve been.
Sunday evening, I went to Sydney to see The Lion King Musical. And goddamn, it was great! I bought the hotel and show package for Fee’s 30th, and I thought I’d tag along. Now, the Lion King is a great movie, but of course, having kids, I have seen it about a million times. I was hoping that the theatre production would not be just a complete copy of the movie, and I was happy to see that there were plenty of new songs and music.

The music was mostly inspiried by South African sounds and with lots of the lyrics in Zulu it gave off an awesome atmosphere. On either side of the stage there were drummers who had a whole barrage of bongos, tom toms and timpani type skins that really sounded awesome when they were going for it.

But the most breath-taking part was when I was watching the stage, about 7 rows from the front, on the aisle and suddenly I turn around and there is an enormouse Elephant lumbering down the aidle towards me. Holy crap it looked cool.
The Capitol Theatre in Sydney is not a huge venue so you felt like you were really close to the action, and especially when the ensemble were right next to you swinging birds around.

Overall, it was a fantastic show. It went for just over 2hrs 45 mins with a 15 minute interval, so you definitely get your moneys worth!

Worth every sent!

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

Leave a comment