101 Things to do in 1001 Days

I’ve been thinking about doing this for a while.

It’s a list of 101 Things to do in 1001 Days.  I’ve always been impressed with how Elizabeth has going.

As defined by the website:

The Criteria:
Tasks must be specific (ie. no ambiguity in the wording) with a result that is either measurable or clearly defined. Tasks must also be realistic and stretching (ie. represent some amount of work on my part).

1. Be decisive. Know exactly what you want, why you want it, and how you plan to achieve it.

2. Stay Focussed. Any goal requires sustained focus from beginning to end. Constantly evaluate your progress.

3. Welcome Failure. Frequently, very little is learned from a venture that did not experience failure in some form. Failure presents the opportunity to learn and makes the success more worthy.

4. Write down your goals. It clarifies your thinking and reinforces your commitment.

5. Keep your goals in sight. Review them frequently, and ensure that they are always at the forefront of your thinking.

I reckon it’s a good thing for me to do as I have a habit of letting things slide, due to my inherently lazy nature. I always say I am going to get around to things. Sometimes I do. Sometimes I don’t.

I think a list is a good thing (as LaLa is always trying to encourage me to do), and this one gives you like almost 3 years to get it done!

Maybe I can convince LaLa to do it with me…

The first thing is, I’d have to pick 101 things. I don’t know how I would do that. It seems very hard. But I guess I could start with cleaning out the garage, painting the house, putting up a pergola and landscaping the yard.

There’s also travelling to Europe, going bungee jumping, donating blood and driving the Great Ocean Road.

There are so many things that I want to do, and why not start to think about them?

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

7 responses to “101 Things to do in 1001 Days

  • Fiona

    If you start, then I might atctually be inspired 🙂

  • LaLa

    If this was on Facebook it would say

    “LaLa likes this”

  • taraSG

    Good luck with making your list! I looked at a lot of other lists and stole ideas once I had hit a plateau 🙂

    There’s also a good post at http://dayzero.ning.com with tips on how to make a better list!

    Looking forward to seeing what you come up with 🙂

    Tara
    http://101.taraSG.com

  • Melly Mel

    Hmmmmm, that’s pretty cool! I am a huge fan of lists and goal setting, just suits my nature and I find the 3 year time frame particularly appealing! 🙂

  • kazari

    I made a list like this when I turned 30. It’s on my blog.
    Some things I have done! Others have been sidelined by life changes (like pregnancy, new jobs and new homes). Every time I revisit it, I find things I can cross off, and things I’ve forgotten about. Strangest are the things that I can’t remember why I added…

    It does take a while to make a list. I had to come back to it several times.

  • Elizabeth

    As you’ve probably noticed, I am loving my 101 list! I think there are a few tricks to creating lists that work with you, rather than against you…

    My tips:

    – Focus on stuff that you really WANT to do. Your list should get you excited.

    – Don’t include anything that you “should do”, unless you will feel immense satisfaction for having gotten it out of the way. (Keep these to a minimum!)

    – Include a bunch of really easy stuff. There are times when your big goals will feel overwhelming, and I find that crossing off smaller goals helps me to feel as though I’m still moving. (ie: Take a friend to the movies, go to the beach, drive to a new town.)

    – Be really specific about your goal. Instead of “clean out the garage”, you might be able to break it down into a few items (eg: 1. Donate furniture/toys in garage to the Salvos; 2. Throw out rubbish from garage; 3. Re-pack items in storage; 4. Sweep out the garage)

    Good luck writing a list, and give yourself plenty of time to do it! Mine had several revisions before I was happy with it.

    Hope you find this as rewarding as I have!

  • John

    Thanks for council, I will try to apply at myself.

Leave a Reply

