Right. So Where Was I?

Fuck. It’s nearly the end of March already.

You realise that when the 1st of April hits, we are 1/4 of the way through 2009 already?

And THEN, we will hit a new decade. The Naughties will be gone. We’ll be into the Ten’s. That just sounds weird.

And THEN we’ll be into the 20’s, and when people refer to the 20’s, how will we know if they’re talking about the 1920’s or the 2020’s?

….

Life is like a snowball.

It rolls, and rolls and rolls, accumulating more snow, sticks, shit and stuff on it’s way, but then eventually it hits the bottom of the hill, or a tree, or just melts cause of the friction (or change of season) and then what? You have a massive broken snowball.

Great analogy, I know.

As you may have noticed, blogging has taken a back seat in my life lately. Firstly, my motiviation for posting has been non existent, but also I have been busy with that snowball of life and…..

… I have discovered Twitter. I mean, yeah, I’ve known about for ages, but I just thought it was a poor substitute for facebook. (which ironically now looks very much like twitter)

As it turns out it is a marvellous way to stalk celebrities and personalities that seem to have a need to ‘tweet’ everything they are doing.

This has particularly been useful with Stephen Fry, Jimmy Fallon, Lily Allen, Drew BarrymoreSteve Buscemi, Gina Riley, John CleeseChris Cornell, The Grates and Kevin Smith. Not to mention that the whole Triple J clan has joined up as well.

There’s a feeling of harmonious warmth when you see celebrities ‘tweeting’ each other, but also tweeting back to you like you were best mates or something.

I mean, just today, Steve Buscemi sent me a direct message telling me to “kick the shit out of a public bathroom for St. Patricks Day”. I mean how fucking cool is that?

The funny thing is, I think that everyone on Twitter realises that this is a fad. It will not last forever. Something bigger, faster and more exciting will come along and just like Myspace and just like blogs and just like Facebook, the participation rate will slide into oblivion and everyone will start using the ‘new’ thing.

But hey, it’s fun to jump on these bandwagons at the height of popularity, otherwise what else can you brag about with friends (I have 5000 friends. How many do you have??)

Besides, I am now officially a cripple and my Indoor Soccer career is over, so what else am I supposed to do?

Oh yeah, I broke my foot on Sunday afternoon.

Picture this.

I’m running to get the ball, with the usual vigour that I reserve for team sports, and I get my foot around the ball just as somewhere else reaches for it from another direction.

My ankle gives way and I roll onto the outside of my foot.

Suddenly a distinct sound permeates through the air;

“CRACK!”

I proceed to collapse onto the floor in pain, wondering why my (often) rolled ankle made that noise.

As I hobble off the court, I notice what appears to be a golf ball slowly rising up from the little toe side of my right foot.

I poke it. OUCH! Hmm. That can’t be good.

Although I would normally just hobble my way through a week with a sprained ankle, I have never seen swelling in my foot from a sprain!

It didn’t take too much convincing from LaLa to get me down to the ER to check it out.

The doctors were even excited enough to show me the X-Ray (all on computer now by the way. No x-ray boxes, although the nurse still referred to the monitor as an ‘X-Ray Box’).

There we go. An avulsion fracture of the 5th metatarsal. Awesome.

For those who don’t follow the link, imagine a tendon pulling away a section of the bone. That’s what an avulsion fracture is.

The doctor asked me, “Are you an elite athlete?”.

Well, it was flattering to be asked, but after LaLa and I chortled heartily, I replied “No.”

I shouldn’t require a pin put in it. Probably just a cast and a walking boot (classy!) for 4-6 weeks.

….

So here I am. At home. Blogging, facebooking, twittering, watching Entourage, playing Rollercoaster Tycoon 3, practicing songs for my band and trying to keep myself busy as my foot starts to heal.

So, where was I?

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

6 responses to “Right. So Where Was I?

  • LaLa

    You were about to call the electrician and book him in for a quote!

  • Melly Mel

    Lucky bugger, you get to go straight into a walking cast! Also explains why ur cast period is shorter than mine too, mine was a Jones Fracture (spiffy sounding huh? don’t you love the names they give fractures?).

    http://orthopedics.about.com/cs/brokenbones/g/jones.htm

    Seriously as much of a pain in the ass as it is it’s good news that that is the type of fracture you have, they’re much faster healing than most of the fractures that occur in that area and you can put weight on them real soon after doing it so ur not stuck on crutches all the time. Some positive news! 😉

    Will pay to make a couple of visits to an osteo after the walking cast/boot comes off tho as they have a tendency to throw one’s back out – you kinda get that when one foot has 3 extra inches on it LOL

  • TJ

    Oh man. I had a Jones Fracture about two and a half years ago (playing badminton, foot rolled, came down on top of it).

    Mine unfortunately hasn’t healed very nicely at all, so there’s talk about the surgery/shaving bone business that I’m trying to weasel out of it. Get very good shoes and very good orthotics to correct the inevitable wonkiness that will occur. Can’t stress it enough.

    Part of the problem was that I thought it was just a bad sprain, and didn’t get the proper treatment for it at the onset. Two months later, when I had the scans, I was rather startled to see the delightful break and wonky bones from it trying to heal itself in the wrong spot. Trying to retroactively treat these things is bad juju.

    Very glad you’re getting it treated right from the beginning.

  • nadine

    You were going to link to your twitter account so I could stalk you! 😉 (unless you’ve already done so and I’m just blind?)

  • Poker

    j ‘ affectionné beaucoup le poker gratuit et je me suis mis fraîchement au poker Il semblerait qu ‘ il trouve plusieurs sites pour distraire au poker en avant gratuitement

  • android apps

    I agree with your Right. So Where Was I? 2 Blog or not 2 Blog, great post.

Leave a Reply

