Bring the Heat. It’s Hottest 100 Time!

Ok dudes, it’s 2009. Bring this shit on.

I’ve been awol for the last few weeks, but that’s because when you’re driving around QLD and relaxing on beaches and in pools and stuffing your face in Sizzler, you don’t really feel like opening a laptop up, let alone post something!

But hey, I have been quite the slack-arse bastard on this blog lately. It’s like I have something else to do with my evenings or sumpy. (see. I even say sumpy, like someone else I know)

Anyway, it’s the time of the year where it gets hot, and not just because of the 30+ degree days we are getting.

IT’S HOTTEST 100 TIME!

And not only that my fine feathered friends.

It’s BIG DAY OUT TIME on Friday.

The biggest weekend of the year.

Thanks to a lovely old friend, I will be checking out The Prodigy, Arctic Monkeys, The Grates, Cog, Pendulum, Quan and MANY more at the Sydney Big Day Out on Friday.

Follow that up with a kick-arse long weekend and the Hottest 100 countdown on Australia Day and what is there not to love?

Of course, I live in constant hope that I will one day win the Hottest 100 prize, which is again a double pass to EVERY Triple J sponsored gig in 2009.

Cripes indeed. LaLa doesn’t want to become a gig widow, but man, it would be the best prize EVAH!

So of course I had the annual challenging task of weeding down my favourite songs to 10 to vote for.

I was even organised enough to get my initial cut down to 100 songs before culling to 20 and then to the final 10.

Yes, 10 songs and here they are!

Artist Song
Dizzee Rascal & Calvin Harris Dance Wiv Me It’s funky, it’s catchy and I can’t stop moving to it. I sing reeeeally badly to this song 🙂
Herd , The The King Is Dead The Herd didn’t disappoint with their album this year. I lova them live. Pity they’re not at the BDO
Josh Pyke The Lighthouse Song I can’t not pick a song from this lonesome crooner. He just knows how to push my sentimental buttons
Kings Of Leon Sex On Fire Come on. You know you love this song. Yeah, it’s been played to death, but it’s still a tops tune.
Living End, The Moment In The Sun The best on the album in my opinion. Rocky, HIllbilly, whatever you call it, it’s just great music.
Metallica The Day That Never Comes 2008 is the year that Metallica came back. 17 years in ‘Load/Reload/St. Crapper’ land is enough. Give 8 minutes of ballsy metal any day.
MGMT Kids This is one of those songs that I seriously remember where I was when I first heard it. I haven’t had a song like that since ‘Smells like Teen Spirit’
Presets , The This Boy’s In Love This song seriously infects your body if you play it loud enough. Amazing AMAZING song. Oh yeah, and this will get close to winning the thing I reckon.
Cog Bird Of Feather Cog’s album this year was so damn good, but I had to pick a favourite. This was played to death back in June, but I still love it. Wanna hear them play it on Friday!

There we go. My 10 favourite, and I think that all of them will be in the countdown, which is rare.

Maybe I’m just too mainstream for my own good now!

What will be top 5?

It’s almost too easy this year.

Presets, MGMT and Kings of Leon are all shoe-ins, but which songs?

I have a feeling that Kings of Leon will take out the top spot because of the mainstream commercial following they got this year. ‘Sex on Fire’ or ‘Use Somebody’?

Presets might have too many songs in the hunt to take the top spot, but MGMT with ‘Electric Feel’ will probably make the Top 5 I reckon.

There will be a LOT of multiple entries this year, but as long as we get a good smattering of Aussie stuff, I’ll always be happy.

So, have a great Aussie weekend, enjoy the cricket/music/sun or whatever you’re up to.

Oi.

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

4 responses to “Bring the Heat. It’s Hottest 100 Time!

  • Melly Mel

    I think you’ve picked it pretty close with the potential top 5, I also picked the same songs you did from The Herd, Kings of Leon, Presets and MGMT in my Top 10. And I second the opinion re The Herd, I’ve seen em a few times now and they rock live, as do Kings of Leon and The Presets for that matter. Pissed that I missed out on tix for the KOL gig here in Newy (or anywhere else for that matter! They’re all sold out). But I do have to wonder what on earth has come over them, they used to be so deliciously rough around the edges and somehow human but have you seen their website lately? Unfortunately the whole commercial thing has spread to their look and feel as well and I am more than a bit worried that they are going to be eaten up by the land of the big C lol Oh well, won’t be the first!

    Bring on the Hottest 100, I can’t wait! And I’m sorry but you won’t be winning the prize this year either, coz I will be winning it!!! 😀 (power of positive thinking and visualisation?? LOL)

  • Fiona

    I am so over MGMT and Kings of Leon. Kings of leon are getting to whiny on my ears.

    Shame abotu the presets – I think I voted for a different song of theirs

  • jesspassiton

    Hi there, loved your blog, thanks! So you like pendulum? try their the game! http://www.pendulum.com/games. i’m addicted – I love pendulum and its really good fun, so win win for me. check it out.

  • H100, G&T and Oz Day « 2 Blog or not 2 Blog

    […] of my 10 songs made it in, with 3 of them making the top 10, and 5 of them in the top […]

Leave a comment