Page One

So, the biggest thing about moving into my own house again is making it feel like home.

We’ve been there around a week now, but it still sorta feels like we’re on holiday somewhere.

Bit by bit we are adding things to the house that we want. An obligatory trip to Ikea on Sunday helped with that! $380 later and we had side tables, a lamp, a cool grater, glasses, quilt covers, more cutlery, a funky water bottle and more!

Ikea is one of those magical stores where you walk in not quite knowing what you want and then walk out with heaps of stuff you didn’t even know you wanted! I still enjoyed it, even though 2 hours of walking around and battling against hundreds of other people with the same house decorating ideas can be tiring.

Lucky we had the meatballs first! (no…not as good as my grandmother makes!)

Making the house feel like home  will probably take a little while yet. We still need a little more furniture and a lot more dust before it feels like home to me, but I’m happy to wait…

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

2 responses to “Page One

  • Fiona

    so where is the nearest Ikea?

  • Prizetastic

    Oh no you are SSSSSSSSSSOOOOOOOOOOOOO Making me miss IKEA….. my friends used to just buy me anything from IKEA for birthdays and stuff because I am a bit of an IKEA addict LOL… now we live too far away, but we still manage to spend a couple of hundred dollars on smaller things every time we visit sydney. The kids always have to travel home surrounded by IKEA things 😀

Leave a Reply

