Bang, Bang, You’re Fucked.

It’s been a while since I have been anticipating a new Aussie drama on TV.

To be honest, I watch very little TV.

I became bored with the CSI’s and Law n’ Orders such a long time ago and the number of regular shows I watch could be counted on one hand.

But Channel Nine’s new show, Underbelly looks bloody awesome.

Why?

Because it’s AUSSIE, and it doesn’t LOOK Aussie.

The last good Aussie show I watched was Last Man Standing, produced and written by our (and Triple J’s) very own Marieke Hardy, (aka Ms Fits from RYWHM). It was a show that was written well and felt real, unlike so many forced Aussie dramas that have come and gone. Unfortunately it lasted a whole one season, which still grinds my gears.

But back to Underbelly. How about the build-up to this show?

Firstly, the Victorian Supreme Court has decided it has to watch all 14 hours of the show to determine whether or not it can be shown at all, or just not in Victoria as the content is based on the real life mob and gangland war in Melbourne.

Then the Australian Family Association (AFA) has come out and said that it’s too graphic and that Nine should not show it at 8.30pm.

Nine will be rubbing their hands at the publicity for their first episode that is to be shown tomorrow night as a 2 hour special. Poor old House on Ch. 10 could be the loser of the night!

Seen the cast?

Not bad I reckon.
I haven’t been this keen for a new Aussie show since The Secret Life of Us, or maybe Good News Week Nite Lite.

UPDATE: The Supreme Court has ordered that the series not be shown on Victorian TV indefinitely.

HA! Too bad Mexicans!

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

Leave a Reply

