No Country For Old Men – A Film Review

Sometimes there’s a movie that you are dying to see and you have the highest expectation for, and then you see it and you aren’t quite sure if it reached them.

Sometimes there’s a movie that you are dying to see and you have the highest expectation for, and then you see it and surpasses your expectation easily.

This time, I saw a movie that I was dying to see and I had the highest expectation for, and it’s blown them out of water, but it’s hard to describe why.

I’ll give it a shot.

I just saw it and it’s very fresh and I am still digesting it. It’s not a heavy plotted movie, but there is so much going on that isn’t spoken, isn’t shown but runs through the characters heads and into yours as the viewer.

It felt like I was reading a book for the whole movie. It was in fact taken from the novel of the same name by Cormac McCarthy, but the narration I ran in my head felt like it was coming straight from those pages.

It’s hard to review a movie like this because it’s just something that you either take in, watch, listen and absorb and enjoy, or come out of going, “Where’s the punch line” (I actually heard this comment as I left the cinema). It was gripping, entertaining and so very well acted.

The character of Llewelyn Moss was played by Josh Brolin. The sort of actor that you see around in a few movies, but never really think that much of. Llewelyn is a character that he plays with aplomb. From every movement, to every bit of speech, you feel the realism of this middle aged cowboy that you know has never had a lot of luck in his life. He comes across 2 Million dollars and his life changes forever.

The storyline takes you through Texas to Mexico as Llewelyn is chased by a psychopath played by one of the scariest dudes I have ever seen, Javier Bardem. This character is methodical, exacting and freaky as hell. He makes you scared just to look at him.

Woody Harrelson has a cameo (Where has he been?) and Tommy Lee Jones is awesome, as always, as the sheriff.

Before I saw this movie, LaLa mentioned that it was a boys movie. I think that she is probably right, but it’s not to say that only boys would enjoy this movie. There is a lot of blood and graphic scenes of wounds, but they are in the context of the film, and the way it is shown, although it makes you squirm, it makes the appreciate the characters and the story all that much more.

It’s the small bits of dialogue between characters in certain scenes that just keep you interested, thinking and on the edge of your seat. The screenplay by the Coen Brothers is outstanding and it’s what keeps this movie together. I think that there was every chance that this movie could have been a mundane, meandering flop, if it were not for the observation, suspense and skill of the Coen Brothers words and directing.

Unfortunately, I think it’s the quirkiness, originality and subtlety that would make some people get turned off by this movie, or expect things that don’t happen. You need to think of it in a thriller sense, similar to Hitchcock’s style. I think that’s one reason I love it so much. I love Hitchcock and this is very much in that old fashioned suspense style.

That’s enough gushing from me. I loved it as you can see. A definite front runner for Best Picture.

5 Stars.

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

One response to “No Country For Old Men – A Film Review

Leave a Reply

