80th Academy Awards – The Best Picture Challenge

Every year I say I am going to do it, and every year I never make it.

2005. 2006. 2007.

The Challenge?

See every movie nominated for Best Picture at the Oscars BEFORE the ceremony.

I came up with this idea because I used to hate that fact that every year, the movies that are all nominated are so new that they have barely been on at Australian cinemas and then they win all these awards and you’re sitting there going, “What the? Never heard of it”

So, the nominees were announced yesterday, and we have 32 days until the ceremony on February 25th. Plenty of time to see 5 movies.

And the nominees are…

Best Picture:

AtonementI must admit, I have been bagging out this movie since I saw it advertised. It looked like a chick flick romantic period movie to me and I had no interest in seeing it. Of course now that it’s been nominated, I am obligated! I do like James McAvoy (Last King of Scotland, Wimbledon) and Keira Knightley (Pirates of the Carribean, Bend It Like Beckham) is hot when she’s eaten a burger.

JunoI thought this was a comedy. It has the kid (Michael Cera) from Arrested Development in it, as well as Jason Bateman (Teen Wolf Too). It seems a lot deeper though. A 16 yr old (Ellen Page) gets pregnant and then spends time with the prospective adoptive parents. I wanted to see it for the cast anyway, but I like the fact a movie like this has been nominated.

Michael ClaytonHey, the movie has my name in it, it must be good. Not to mention that it’s a George Clooney flick and he is like one of my favourite….ever. What’s it about? I dunno. Some lawyer movie about ethics and back-room dealings and what-not. Doesn’t sound overly exciting to be honest, but I guess I can fit it in.

No Country For Old MenFirstly, this movie is written and directed by the Coen Brothers. Who? Well, look at this for a resume. Raising Arizona, Barton Fink, Fargo, The Big Lebowski, O Brother, Where Are Thou? and Intolerable Cruelty. A hunter finds a dead body, drugs and money in the wild west. You can see how the Coen Brothers could have fun with that already. It would be unrelenting, fun, thought provoking and cinematically brilliant. Can’t wait to see it. Oh. And who’s in it? Tommy Lee Jones, Woody Harrelson and Josh Brolin. But really. It doesn’t matter. See it!

There Will Be BloodI don’t know much about this movie, other than it’s got Daniel Day Lewis in it, is about a local farmer and his deaf son, who returns to his father after being rejected. Sounds…interesting. Apparently it is outstanding, but seems a little deep and in depth. It also goes for 2hrs 40 mins and isn’t released here until the 8th of Feb. Not sure about this one, but will see it if I can!


So there we go. 5 Movies and about 5 weeks to see them in.Who’s up for the challenge?

Hopefully I will knock the first one off this weekend with LaLa in Sydney.

She wanted to see Atonement, so I can do that 🙂 (now it’s nominated at least..)

So, Big Day Out tomorrow, Hottest 100 on Saturday. Weekend with my girl.

It’ll be the best weekend of the year.

See ya’s next week!

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

6 responses to “80th Academy Awards – The Best Picture Challenge

  • Fiona

    I’d like to see Juno, but think I’ll wait for the dvd/download…

  • mark

    What a fantastic idea! I mean, fairly obvious in retrospect, but then, so was gravity. I intend to steal it. Next year.

  • Aurelius

    Dude, I’d go to any. Especially the Michael Clayton one (like you, I have no idea about it, but movies are best that way)

  • alyndabear

    I’ve read Atonement but have a feeling the movie will let me down. I do want to see Juno though!

  • Trish

    I recently saw No Country for Old Men, then Atonement a few days later. I think I would have enjoyed Atonement more if I wasn’t comparing it against what I now consider one of the best films I’ve ever seen. No Country is absolutely superb and I’ll be buying it on DVD asap. I’ll buy an ex-rental copy of Atonement.

    I haven’t seen any of the others but I’m planning to see Juno next week. I think I decided Michael Clayton could wait until it came on DVD but I’ve heard it’s good.

    Have fun! Are you going to have a go at predicting the winners?

  • Movie Night Anyone? « 2 Blog or not 2 Blog

    […] February 2008 in Film by Mick Tags: Film, Films, Movies, popcorn Since I failed miserably with my Oscar Challenge (again), I have been busy downloading lots of movies to catch up […]

Leave a Reply

