BDO – 2nd Announcement.

Finally, the 2nd lot of bands have been announced for the 2008 Big Day Out.

They are:

silverchair, Spoon, Augie March, Brand New, Regurgitator, Anti-Flag, Karnivool, Carl Cox, Pnau, Kate Nash, Josh Pyke, beXta, Shy Child, Gyroscope, Enter Shikari, Operator Please, Unkle (live), Goodwill, Krafty Kuts & MC Dynamite, Die! Die! Die!, The Nightwatchman (Tom Morello acoustic),Blue King Brown, Dr Octagon with Kutmaster Kurt, British India, Aceyalone, Krill

It’s an interesting list. Lots of Oz on it, which is good to see. (seeing as though I am missing Homebake)

Of course I am ecstatic about the Gurge playing there again. Even though I saw them a couple of months ago, I’d love to see them in a festival atmosphere.

Pleased to see Operator Please included. They are my “Next Big Thing” band and I’d like to see them play their album live.

I’m also excited about Karnivool, beXta, Pnau, Gyroscope, The Nightwatchman and British India. Soooo many bands. Only one day!

I will have to do my research with Dougall (my BDO buddy) before going to work out who we are going to fit in.

Oh, and the inclusion of silverchair? It’s a little pointless seeing as though they finished a HUGE tour of oz anyway.

I see the main stages looking like this for the end of the night:

Orange Stage:

4.00 – 5.00 – Hilltop Hoods

6.00 – 7.00 – Arcade Fire

8.00 – 9.00 – Bjork

Blue Stage:

5.00 – 6.00 – Grinspoon

7.00 – 8.00 – silverchair

9.00 – 10.00 – Rage Against The Machine

It will be HUGE!

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

5 responses to “BDO – 2nd Announcement.

  • enny

    I might actually see Silverchair at BDO – I like them but don’t love them, and knowing it will be short set will make me more inclined to enjoy it!

    Do you know when the timetable comes out? I’m looking forward to spreadsheeting it all and cruising MySpace to find out more about the bands I haven’t heard of… from this announcement I’m most excited about Augie March, Josh Pyke, Blue King Brown, Operator Please, Regurgitator and Silverchair. I’m also curiour about the Nightwatchmen and beXta, and The Hun is excited about Unkle (depending on who they guest vocal with).

  • Mick

    Timetable is not usually out till January.
    Another load of local acts will be announced.
    I am still surprised that the Smashing Pumpkins aren’t coming. I thought they were almost locked in!

    Organising who to see when will be fun!

    Die! Die! Die! are a fun act from NZ. I’ve also heard about Brand New who are supposed to be good.

  • Fiona

    It’s going to be chaos at the stage if silverchair precede RATM…

    (personally not a festivals girl!)

  • Kate

    SO excited! When I heard that silverchair is playing I literally started hyperventilating!!

    Can’t wait to get the timetable!

    I personally want to see:
    hilltop hoods
    silverchair
    grinspoon
    british india
    kate nash
    rage against the machine
    arcade fire

    and heaps more… but i cant remember them right now!

Leave a Reply

