Classic Albums : Nirvana – Nevermind

Tonight there was a special on SBS about the making of Nevermind by Nirvana.

It was great to see some of the behind the scenes stories and interviews about the making of the album, that for me, stands out as one of, if not, the best I have ever heard.

You see, I am a bit of a nerd when it comes to giving songs Star Ratings in iTunes, and Nevermind is one of the very few albums (along with Pearl Jam’s Ten) where every single song gets 5 Stars.

The doco followed Butch Vig as he recounted the production of the album. There were times where he had his eyes closed, and you could just imagine that he was thinking about when Kurt Cobain was lying on the couch in the studio playing Something In The Way exactly the way it appeared on the album.

It was a little scary to see Krist Novoselic as a plump balding 40 year old, but I guess time changes us all.

16 Years ago this album was released. To my kids it will be like the old Cream records that my Dad owns. I just hope that I can impart my musical tastes on them a little as they grow up.

They listen to Triple J. Mikayla has John Butler Trio, Josh Pyke and Silverchair on her MP3 player. I am hoping to get them to watch me play in my band at some stage soon.

I will never forget the first time I heard ‘Smells like Teen Spirit‘. It was like an awakening. My future musical direction was determined from that point on.

It was on Kix 106, 1991. At some stage in September. I even remember Bad Boyd commenting before the song started. “This song is something special”. I was standing up near the door of my room in Macgregor. I just stood there and listened to the whole thing. Transfixed.

Bad Boyd was right.

And if you’re interested in what the ‘Nevermind’ baby looks like now?

His name is Spencer Elden.

Here’s a pic of him at age 1o, recreating the famous image

And now at 16

Spencer Elden

His best pickup line?

“Want to see my penis again?”

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

9 responses to “Classic Albums : Nirvana – Nevermind

  • Aurelius

    I stumbled on that doco about 10 seconds before it started. I have to admit, I wasn’t a Nirvana fan until shortly before Kurt died, and I thought it was really interesting to see not only about the making of the album, but what has become of Krist and Dave.
    Dave struck me as looking like a computer geek in his 40s – imagine Jason Lee’s character in Mallrats, but 20 years later. He seemed like a terribly normal bloke, quite pleasant considering how he’s gone on to as much of a music career after Nirvana as with Nirvana. Krist though looked like, well, a middle aged dad. He looked like middle management. I have no idea what he does now, but their ‘normalness’ came across in the show, and it was excellent.
    Twas also a excellent doco about the taking of an album from the bare bones to a produced masterpiece.

  • ‘39 « Aurelius’ New Direction

    […] few weeks ago, I saw a documentary on the making of Nirvana’s Nevermind. Mick wrote a review of the doco which is worth a look. It inspired me though to look into this Classic Albums series, and I’ve downloaded a few […]

  • Assembled Here The Volunteers « Aurelius’ New Direction

    […] few weeks ago, I saw a documentary on the making of Nirvana’s Nevermind. Mick wrote a review of the doco which is worth a look. It inspired me though to look into this Classic Albums series, and I’ve downloaded a few […]

  • Chantel

    freakin cool, haha that dude is totally picking up now! funny

  • Nom

    whhhhhhaaaaaaaa i like himm………….

    “Want to see my penis again?” :DDDDDD

  • Nirvana owns

    Nirvana rocks. Its funny to see how much that guys gone from chubby baby to fashionable teen.

  • Android Free Application

    I got what you wish, thanks for putting up. Woh I am gladsome to mature this website through google. Thanks For Share Classic Albums : Nirvana – Nevermind 2 Blog or not 2 Blog.

  • turkish law firm

    Good info. Lucky me I found your website by accident (stumbleupon). I have saved it for later!

  • grow taller 4 idiots program

    Hello awesome web site! Person grow taller 4 idiots program. Excellent. Excellent. I most certainly will bookmark your web blog plus grab the feeds furthermore? We’re pleased to uncover a lot of practical details below while in the put up, we end up needing come up with extra practices on this respect, many thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

