Cricket is back. Get me a Beer and a Bar-bee. It’s gonna be a long summer.

The squad for the Test Match against the Sri Lankans has been announced.

Player                                         State     Age
Ricky Ponting (captain) TAS 32
Adam Gilchrist (vice-captain) WA 35
Stuart Clark NSW 32
Michael Clarke NSW 26*
Matthew Hayden QLD 36
Brad Hogg WA 36
Michael Hussey WA 32
Phil Jaques NSW 28* (to replace Langer)
Mitchell Johnson QLD 25* (to replace McGrath)
Brett Lee NSW 30
Stuart MacGill NSW 36 (to replace Warne)
Andrew Symonds QLD 32
Shaun Tait SA 24*

A lot of speculation has been around whether McGill would make it and whether Jaques would replace Langer as opener. I think the answer is yes and yes, but the 13 man squad will be reduced to 12 next Wednesday.

I hope McGill gets a run. For too long he was bridesmaid to Warne’s heroics and the simple fact is, if Warne wasn’t around, McGill probably would have snagged as many or more wickets than Warne did.

I like the look of the team though. Mitchell Johnson is a talent and an able replacement for McGrath. Symonds is in too good a form to leave out of the tests.

It’s still an old team with only 4 players in their 20’s, but I think we have some good talent coming through to take over from the Hayden’s, Hussey’s and Gilchrist’s.

I think Hogg should be dropped for the test, and Tait made 12th man. We can go an all pace attack at the bouncy WACA.

Whoever they pick, let’s SMASH THOSE LITTLE SRI LANKANS!

5-0 Ashes

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

2 responses to “Cricket is back. Get me a Beer and a Bar-bee. It’s gonna be a long summer.

Leave a Reply

