I Routinely Maintain No Routine

My head is full of things to say and write about at the moment, but I think it’s so full that I’m having trouble squeezing anything actually out.

Like when you have lollies that you are trying to shake out of a container and they all just get stuck on each other.

Sooner or later they all just spill out and you get more than you bargained for.

But here’s something I wanted to discuss.

Routine (r tēn)

noun
  1.  a regular, more or less unvarying procedure, customary, prescribed, or habitual, as of business or daily life

I hate it. I really do. I don’t like having something that I do, day in, day out. I like variety. I like change. I crave it.

But why? Am I in the minority when it comes to craving change? It seems that a lot of people are happy to just do the same things week in, week out. Day in, day out. Same meals. Same route to work. Same night-time rituals. Same TV programs. Same. Same. Same.

I like to mix it up. When I drive (or now ride) to work, I take different routes now and then, depending on mood. I like to change what I eat at lunch. What time I eat it. Where I eat it. I don’t have any bathroom rituals that I know of. I just do what I have to do and get out.

So, is there a problem with this? Personally, for me, I don’t think that there is a problem, but when you have children involved, I think it can be a little different.

We never raised our kids on a strict routine, which I think was for the best. Sure, you try to schedule the feeds and the sleeps on some sort of pattern when they are very little, but we were never very rigid on it. A late sleep here, an early feed there, it doesn’t make a huge difference.

I just wonder if my routinelessness (I made up a word) affects the kids adversely. I think that I am encouraging them to be flexible, which I think is important, but maybe I am also demonstrating a lack of commitment or stability.

And stability is something that I know I have lacked the last couple of years.

In truth, I am looking forward to being more stable, but I have accepted that this could still be a couple of years down the track. Stability and Routine, however, are 2 different things.

I am happy with my lack of routine. Over the last couple of years I have learnt to just take what is thrown at me from day to day. I avoid planning. (until it is REALLY needed)

I think it makes me a happier person, but that’s just me. And we are ALL different, as I discover more and more every day.

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

4 responses to “I Routinely Maintain No Routine

  • alyndabear

    I’m a routine person.. but then some days I just get so fed up with it, I bugger up my own routines on person. What does that make me? Strange, haha. But hey, whatever works..

  • Mick

    Ha! That’s the thing. If you don’t have a routine, you have nothing to bugger up 🙂

  • enny

    I’m a big routine person, I’m bossy and like to know what should be happening when and when.

    Also – tix onsale at midnight tonight?!

  • Aurelius

    Routine has its place, but like a lot of things, can be abused.
    I like being spontaneous, although when I find something I like, I go back for more. Hence why I can go to several restaurants around town, and the staff know my order before I sit down.

Leave a Reply

