Phoney Mobiles..

My poor old mobile (Sony Ericsson K750i) is on it’s last legs, but it’s not even 2 years old!

I think it’s crap that a $700 piece of equipment can fall apart after only…

  • Being dropped from a height of about 4 metres onto the Indoor Cricket Centre floor.
  • Being accidently flung out of my hand and flying 10 metres onto the ground of a carpark, narrowly missing being run over by a Rav 4
  • Getting hot, sweaty and wet in my pocket at 2 Big Day Outs and multiple mosh pits.
  • Travelling from one end of the world to the other in my pocket or bag
  • Me bashing the hell out of the little joystick which never freaking works when you want it to and ‘clicks’ instead of going down or left or right or up. Grrrrrr. Most frustrating thing EVER.
  • Spilling beer on it..
  • Taking it to the beach on a windy day when sand was blowing up every orifice and infliltrating every little thing that I was carrying.

Actually, the fact that the phone still WORKS is a lucky thing.

Except that the lcd screen is all pale and fading and barely visible outdoors and the sliding cover for the camera doesn’t register when it is open and closed any more and the cable I have for my laptop doesn’t register that is connected at all.

So, instead of forking out another $700 or going into another 2 year contract with a Mobile provider, I decided to buy a spare parts kit for my phone on eBay.

Here’s hoping I don’t completely break the thing.

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

5 responses to “Phoney Mobiles..

  • MadameBoffin

    Don’t resuscitate the Ericsson – just fork out for a Nokia. They’re 100% better.

    — Boff aka “The Nokia Pimp”

  • Giggles

    I’m a Nokia girl as well!

    Get yourself a Nokia – my mobiles have to survive far worse then that on a very regular basis. Alcohol forms a big part of my mobile phones diet!

    Although I have a Motorola at the moment and I totally hate it. I will be back to a Nokia before you know it!

  • Mick

    But I like Sony-Ericsson! I have always thought Nokia’s were cheap and nasty.

    You would have to convince me otherwise!!

  • LaLa

    NOKIA rocks.

    Sony-schmony

  • Alyndabear

    I am a Nokia Girl as well!!! 😀 They are FABULOUS.

    Oh, speaking of injuring electrical goods, I dropped my Ipod while I was on the treadmill this morning and it bounced about TWELVE times on the tiled floor, yet still works and has no scratches? How’d I manage that?

Leave a Reply

