How to make your boss cry…

…without kicking them in the crotch.. 

So, I told the boss today and it was hard. Fucking hard. I paced around outside his cubicle a few times…pretended I was doing something else…chatted about banal stuff and then finally just bit the bullet.

I guess that if your boss is upset and disappointed to see you leave that it’s probably a good thing and a reflection of your work, but it just makes it frigging harder. It was hard enough for me to tell him, but when he said that he really hoped that I would last and that no-one’s left within 3 months before and mentioned how much money had been spent on me getting the position, I felt like the smallest little dogturd in a pile of big dogturds.

I am not very good at saying things to people that I know they don’t want to hear. That could be a flaw or it could be a positive part of my personality (depends on the situation…) but even when I know that I am ultimately making a decision that is best for me I start to think that it is the wrong one.

He told me that they had big plans for me and that he was hoping to get me into a different area after my first year, and get me trained up in Microsoft stuff (MCSE). Blah blah blah. I didn’t know what to say. I tried to impress on him that it wasn’t just the money as to why I wanted to go. (I didn’t want to sound like a money hungry bastard) But there were too many things about this new job that made it too good to deny.

Well..the hardest bit is out of the way. I feel a little better, but I always hate the limbo stage when you have given notice at your job. Straight away you feel like an outsider and that you don’t belong. I hope these next few weeks go fast.

Oh yeah, and they don’t like you taking sick leave after you’ve given notice. Bastards. I’ve tried that before.

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

7 responses to “How to make your boss cry…

  • Alyndabear

    The hard part’s done — now let’s just hope you dont’ catch a cold or anything in the next couple of weeks.. 😉

  • LaLa

    Ouch.

    I am a bit like you. He would probably say all of that to me and I would go “Oh, OK, but only if you give me an extra day off.”

    I am a sucker.

    Well done on having some cojones.

  • Malnurtured Snay

    But kicking them in the balls is so much FUN!

  • mez

    ha, well you have to take the sick leave and annual leave first, THEN you hand in your notice 😉

  • Stuart

    Nice little manipulation job he was trying on you. Don’t feel bad about it – if it suited them they’d sack you tomorrow whether you had another job to go to or not.

    A true professional wouldn’t have tried to put the guilt trip on you

  • Mick

    Aly – Thanks! I’ll try not to catch anything. Pity about these cold Canberra mornings!

    LaLa – Yeah, the path to stay is always there, open, waiting, but apparently the worst thing you can do is stay or accept a counter-offer. What that’s what the net says 🙂

    Snay – Welcome! And yes. It would be fun, but could be a bridge burnt? 😛

    Mez – Yeah…should have. Pity I have bugger all racked up anyway!

    Stuart – You’re right. But so many times I have had bosses who have just been unprofessional pricks when I have announced my resignation. I don’t know what it is. They’re just trying to save work for themselves. But they just come off as ungrateful bastards mostly…

  • Tammiodo

    well you could have just kicked him in the balls… then he may have fired you and you would have saved yourself all the heartache.

    Or not.

Leave a Reply

