I Got It! :)

Got the call this arvo.

“I was successful in applying for the position”

I will be made an offer in the morning!

The usual recruiter guy was away, so I will have to wait and see what he has to say tomorrow.

Drum Roll PLEASE!

I am happy and excited and nervous and shitscared all at once!

New jobs are always exciting, but I am dreading telling my current boss that I want to go after just 3 months. He really helped me out when I needed a job after coming back from the US and now I am going to bail.

Well, possibly. They could come out with an offer that I won’t accept, and I will give my current company a chance to match it as well, so nothing is set in stone yet!

This part is fun…but I’m not a very good haggler. Any suggestions on how to counter-offer and haggle with recruiters??

EDIT: I got the offer. It was higher than I originally wanted. I think I’ll take it!! πŸ™‚ Now it’s time to tell the boss….I’ll save it for Friday arvo!

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

7 responses to “I Got It! :)

  • Enny

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!

    I heard Lanyon and the parkway were also a sh!t this morning, so musta been a bad traffic day :o)

  • LaLa

    Congratulations blossom!

    You will have to do something super-special this weekend to celebrate!

  • Alyndabear

    I think that is great news!!! πŸ™‚ I say just be blunt with the current boss, it’s always better to get it out there – give him your options and if he’s clever, he’ll negotiate with you. Either way – that’s awesome! πŸ™‚

  • Stuart

    Perhaps you need a pimp to do the negotiating for you. One of our daughters is a Unix Systems Engineer currently on contract with Fujitsu and she usually leaves everything up to the employment rep who handles her file.

    If she doesn’t like an offer she just says ‘no’ and the rep goes back to the company to try and cut a better deal for her.

  • Jessy

    Congratulations Mick, I hope they give you an awesome deal!!!

    =)

  • steph

    Congratulations! Don’t feel guilty about leaving. Sure they may have spent money to train you or whatever, but I’m sure you earned them heaps more in the short time you were there. It’s not like THEY were doing you a favour!

    Good luck in the new position. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

