Tropfest in Canberra. If only it were Trop-ical.

As the lightning flashed in the summer Canberra night, 17,000 Canberrans rocked up to Stage 88 in Commonwealth Park to be part of the World’s Largest Short Film Festival, Tropfest….or should I say SONY Tropfest (Advertising was rampant).

It was my first time actually watching it live, and I had a great time sipping wine, chatting to Roey and sharing in the arty fartedness of the night.

The 16 finalists were all very very diverse, from funny, to obscure, to serious to surreal. There was everything.

My 3 favourites…

1) Between the Flags – A cute film with only 2 actors, set on the day of the Cronulla Riots in 2005. It was well written and acted and was genius in it’s simplicity and social message. Really liked this one.

2) An Imaginery Life – The winner of 2007 Tropfest, and a really cute film. About the life of an imaginery friend that has been left by the wayside. Very cute story and a barrel of laughs.

3) Road Rage – Clever movie about what happens when the guy you chase down that pulls out in front of you starts crying. Again, a simple movie and simple plot, but very effective.

I also liked ‘Pig Latin’ (an extended comedy sketch starring Stephen Curry) which was great for a laugh, and ‘Being Boston’ about a dogs point of view to a heart-broken owner.

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

One response to “Tropfest in Canberra. If only it were Trop-ical.

Leave a Reply

