The 2nd biggest vote of the year…

Vote NOW! 

I love Triple J, and I love the Hottest 100. I have listened to it every single year, except for last year when I attended my first Big Day Out

It was a little tough going through the list this year though because I didn’t recognise a lot of those Australian songs that only JJJ plays. So, a lot of the songs in my Top 10 are bands that I saw live during the year in the US, or some of the big hits.


Editors – Blood

Saw these guys in DC. They are a UK Band that I had never heard of, but I knew this song when I went and it stands out on their album. Really awesome guitar sound and break-out Pommy band on 2006

Gnarls Barkley – Crazy

Can’t go past this song. It’ll probably win or get very close to winning this year. Just a great great song.

Grates – 19-20-20

Saw them twice in 2006. They are fun, funky, and the singer is cute. I chatted to the chick drummer at their gig in DC. She was really nice.

Muse – Starlight

Big sound. Kick-arse song. Want to go to BDO so I can see them. Awesome album they released. Was a tie between this and Supermassive Black Hole…

Pendulum – Tarantula

Aussie and Electronic. Really dancy but I love this. Was exposed to it but a friend of mine at the start of 2006 and was addicted to the album for the rest of the year..

Scissor Sisters – I Don’t Feel Like Dancing

How fun can music get? Just ask these guys. A fantastic song to make you feel good. The vocals are so cool and damn it just makes me smile.

Snow Patrol – Chasing Cars

On the other hand, this song makes me cry, but it’s beautifully written and sung.  When I saw them perform this in a club in DC the crowd response was amazing. But screw Grey’s Anatomy for making it huge cause it was huge before that and stands by itself.

Snow Patrol – Hands Open

Another great song from these guys. I definitely listened to more Snow Patrol in 2006 than any other band. They even pushed out my Pearl Jam song from my Top 10. This song is just great.

Tool – Vicarious

Kick-arse Tool at their best. No-one can fill a space with noise and make it sound so chunky. Every. Single. Time.

We Are Scientists – Nobody Move, Nobody Get Hurt

Saw these guys 3 days before I left DC. It was a double-bill with The Grates. They were so frigging good live. And EVERY son on their album is good. Pretty hard to pick just one, but this is a popular choice…


So, who did you vote for?

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

3 responses to “The 2nd biggest vote of the year…

  • Enny

    I didn’t vote, but I AM very excited to be off to my first BDO to see Tool!

  • Mick

    Damn damn damn damn. I reeeeeaallly want to go, but I don’t know if I want to fork out $180 for a ticket on eBay.
    *sigh*
    My own fault for being in another country I suppose…

  • Enny

    That’s what you get for being a globetrotter!

    I voted:
    Angus & Julia Stone – Paper Aeroplane
    Augie March – One Crowded Hour
    Basement Jaxx – Hey U
    Basement Jaxx – Take Me Back To Your House
    Camille – Ta Douleur
    Holly Throsby – Making A Fire
    Jose Gonzalez – Hand On Your Heart
    Lady Sovereign – Love Me Or Hate Me
    Lily Allen – Friday Night
    Robyn – Konichiwa Bitches

Leave a Reply

