What I’m doing now…

Ok, enough of banal posts and useful information. I’ll give everyone a bit of an idea of where I am at right now.

At the end of this month I would have been here 7 months. That’s 7 months out of the 11 months that I originally planned to be here. I am starting to see that those those 4 months are going to fly by and before I know it I will have to make a few big decisions in my life.

What are those decisions? Well, without getting into it too deeply, basically I have to decide a path for my life. But if this DC jaunt has taught me anything it is that I see myself moving away from the everyday 9 to 5 life and trying to find something new to consume myself with.

Back to the decisions…

  • Where do I l ive when I return to Australia?
  • Where do I work when I return to Australia?
  • Do I return to Australia for good at Christmas time as I was originally planning?
  • Do I look to travel somewhere else and work?
  • Am I ready to start this next chapter in my life?
  • Do I take risks and start a new venture that could potentially change my life?

These are all things that are going to be on my mind for the next 4 months, and to be honest I don’t want to think about it right now.

The only thing I know for sure is that I will be in Australia for the week before Christmas and over the Christmas break.

Of course, I miss the kids and I miss family. I miss Australia in general, but there are plenty of things that I will miss from this place as well and I don’t know if I’ll be ready to move on from them come Christmas…

But I need some inspriation. I need something that is going to make my decision easier.

Before anyone starts to say/think the obvious, if I did decide to return to the US it would not be for much longer. 6 months is what I was thinking.

I don’t know…. Really I don’t. 4 months might end up being all I want and need in this place and I will happily return home.

Maybe I won’t know until December, but shit, I wish I knew now.

A lot of it comes down to where I’m living. Which is still, NOWHERE.

I am dogsitting a cute labradoodle at the moment. That ends on the 2nd of Sept. I am then cat-sitting for a week, and then I am back to looking.

If I am still in this situation when I return to Australia then really I think my decision is made. I don’t think I want to be coming back to DC without a place to live. It’s just not doable for much longer. I need some stability if I am to stay. But lots can happen in 4 months, so I just don’t know if I can make my final decision just yet.

I dunno. I am just brain-dumping right now, but I would be happy to hear anyone’s thoughts or opinions. If I don’t like ’em I’ll just delete them. 😉 Hehehe

Hope everyone is well!

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

2 responses to “What I’m doing now…

  • Zoe

    Sheesh, you’ve got some thinking to do. Don’t rush it, dude. If it was me, I would miss Sage too much, I think – but then you settled down pretty goddam early and I got to run wild for quite a while!

  • jill

    Wow, and I thought I had a lot on my mind. I don’t know the details of your life, so I can’t weigh in on how soon you ought to be running back… but I do think that even though you need a stable living situation, you should not make a decision based solely on that. If change and exploration were what you needed, I think you will know when a good choice comes–

    ah, screw it. Dude, here’s what I’ve learned. There are no right answers. The best we can hope to do is to make the best choice available at a given moment, based on the situation as it appears at that time.

    In other words, I have faith that you will choose the option that sucks the least.

    This comment brought to you by a woman who has been working 14-16 hour days, every day for the past 4 weeks.

Leave a Reply

