The life of a nomad..

I write this from an Apple iMac that I am utilising whilst house/petsitting a little pug dog named Max up on W Street in NW Washington DC.

I currently have the keys to 4 different places in NW and NE DC and am looking after cats and dogs and houses so as I keep off the street. It’s an experience!

I really bit off more than I could chew this weekend. Not only is there Max the pug dog here, but there’s Kula the Shephard-cross up in Brookland, and Sue and T-Bone the cars in Adams Morgan and Pharmacuetica in Dupont.

Am I crazy or what? I will have to try not to double-book myself in the future however as it’s really crazy trying to commute between houses, and work out where to keep my stuff.

And there’s the animals! There is this cat in Dupont Circle, in this tiny little apartment on a hidden away street that hides. When I first went there with the owner, she had to go in first, so the cat wouldn’t hide away. So I turn up to check on the cat, and I can’t find her (or him? Who can tell) anywhere. The dog wasn’t touched. There was nothing in the litterbox. What the hell?

So I look upstairs and downstairs in the places that the owner said she might hide. But still nothing. There is a closed door which appears to be a spare room or something and I look in there, but at first look I see and hear nothing so I move on. 10 minutes later after still not finding the cat, I have a closer look in the spare room.
There, hidden away in the corner behind a box is a cat. Scared, hungry and freaked out.

The lady who owns this cat has gone to Iraq and France for a month, and she bought an Auto-feeder for the cat but she couldn’t get it working before she left. It took me 15 minutes or so, but I figured it out. This cat is totally skittish though so I’m sure I’ll have fun trying to find her next time as well….
Fortunately this place had a pushbike that looked hardly used, and I thought I would borrow it to trek around town instead of using up money on the Metro to get everywhere.

It’s worked out well, and I have managed to ride 20 blocks in 15 mnutes, which is quicker than the metro anyway!

So…thursday night!

It took me until I reached Washington DC before I saw John Butler Trio for the first time, live. They were at the 9:30 Club. Firstly, I rock up there in my Aussie Socceroos top, and I look around for the people that I knew were going. I didn’t have much luck finding them, so I ended up just pushing up into the crowd near the stage.

I look and listen and there are Aussies everywhere. It feels like I am at home, standing in the ANU Bar. I end up chatting to bunch of girls who are n DC as nannies. They tell me that they have been here 18 months and this is their 3rd John Butler gig. There’s American guys ALL around these girls as soon as their accent filters out. It’s pretty funny to watch.

So, JBT comes out and plays one amazing gig. They just churned out hit after hit and the crowd was lapping it up. It seems that they attracted a pretty big following in the States as everyone seemed to be singing along.
When John got up and played Peaches and Cream, with a single mic in the middle of the stage and a guitar, he asked the whole crowd to be silent. After he told one tool to ‘Shut the Fuck Up’ he went on to sing the song along with the whole crowd. And in the last chorus bit, the other 2 guys came up and sang along as well. It was acoustic, but it was electric. Just amazing to hear the whole crowd single along.
I was talking to some Americans after the concert (which went for a marathon 2 1/2 hours) and they said it was the best concert they had ever been to.
It was pretty damn good and makes me rue never seeing them in Australia before. But I am just glad that I got the opportunity to check them out here in front of a crowd they seemed like it would appreciate them more than an ANU Bar or Royal Theatre crowd.

So now I sit, in this house on W Street, in front of an iMac, on a Saturday night trying to decide whether I will go out or not.

Better go walk the pug first….

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

Leave a Reply

