The party, the basin and the phallic thing

Saturday night was fun.

Had a party here at the house and about 30 odd people turned up.

Lots of drinking.

A good nights drinking

Lots of friendly people from all walks of life. We had Americans, Australians, Latvians, Welsh, French and Germans. Everyone seemed to have a good time which was the main thing.

Party People

I got to bed at 4, and I think that signals a good night 🙂

After awaking at around 10.30, for some reason we decided to do a walk down the mall and around the tidal basin.

At the risk of posting cliched pictures, here’s a few anyway…..

We saw the Capitol Building…

The Capitol Building No.1

The Washington Monument,

The Band and the Monument

The Jefferson Memorial,

Mr. Jefferson

a duck,

A Tidal Basin duck

and some Irish fools in the St. Pats Day Parade.

St. Pats Day Band

It was my first real touristy thing I’ve done here since arriving, and it was nice, even though my feet hurt like a son of a bitch.

The Tidal Basin will explode into Cherryblossom bloom in a few weeks and then the crowds will flock and picture opportunities will diminish. I amy try and get down and get some good shots when they are out, but not looking forward to battling the crowds.

Didn’t have time to visit the Lincoln Memorial just yet, or get closer to the White House or Capitol Building, but will get to that soon!
Next time I will have to actually start walking inside some of those museums and galleries as well.

Can’t do everything at once 🙂

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

Leave a Reply

