Weekends are good. But sometimes, on the monday, you pay for it.

I had a fun weekend πŸ™‚

On Friday night, my mate from Sydney came down and he convinced me to go to see Ben Lee (Best Male Artist of the Year according to ARIA) at the ANU Bar.
Now, I am not the hugest Ben Lee fan, and I’ve always thought he is pretty up himself, but the guy has talent. He is an excellent songwriter, and as my mate said, he has the ability to hold a crowd by himself.

For some of the gig, he had a backing band, but for almost half of the 90 minutes that he played for it was just him, a guitar and occassionally Lara on the keyboard.

Sometimes I think his problem is that he opens his mouth to talk, because it’s not long before he mentions how many aria nominations he has, or how he has come from his bedroom to be Clare Danes’ ex πŸ˜›

Saturday was an excellent day. The kids and I spent the day together, and it involved walking/running in the rain, bunkering under my sisters doorstep, the kids playing with their cousin and playing at the park.

I think Ewie enjoyed the swing πŸ™‚

Saturday night I went bowling for the first time in 5 or 6 years. It was a work function for the Indoor cricket centre and it was a huge night. I also now realise that I must have at least 4 standard drinks in me before getting 100+ in bowling. My first game (sober) was a paultry score of 70, whilst the 2nd game I cracked the triple figures for 105. It was still pretty ordinary compared to how I used to play, but I guess not playing for so long didn’t help.

There’s something about bowling alleys that make me smile though. I really like the atmosphere and the smiles that it generates. The key to happiness at bowling? Don’t take it seriously. The guys in the next lane definitely had that theory down as they attempted bouncers, spinners and long bowls from the seats. It’s good fun.

Later that night, and after totally stuffing myself at Zeffirellis, a few of use went on to The Lighthouse.

*shudder*

Now, this place used to be called ‘Sails’ and it used to be my hangout, I guess you could say.
My Friday nights, when I was 18/19 consisted of 2 for 1 drinks at a place called ‘Vegas’ (in Belco) and then we would stumble down to Sails when the cheap drinks finished and drink some more and party the night away. Then, repeat this ad nauseum on Thursdays, Fridays or Saturdays.

Sails is now called The Lighthouse and on this particular Saturday night from about 11 till 12:30, it was dead. I guess there may have been about 60 people there, whereas in the boom times you would be fighting your way from the bar to the dance floor with about 400+ people. Back in the day I used to be able to recognise most people down there, but obviously 10 years later I look at the all the 18 and 19 yr olds and wonder if I was actually like them…..

Scary stuff, but I digress.

It was a fun night. I still drove home though (back streets are great) and I crashed in anticipation of the Allan Border Celebrity Challenge that I witness at Bradman Oval in Bowral yesterday.

Cricket = Relaxation = Beer = Fun = Tired.

It was a great day. Dean Jones smashed an awesome 89, and Border cracket a solid 65. It was excellent to see some of the ex-players, like Geoff Lawson, Greg Matthews, Ian Healy, Courtney Walsh and Colin Miller have a run. Heals even got a wicket (when impersonating Merv Hughes).
I drank too much beer again and I crashed last night.
I so wish I didn’t have to work today, but oh well I have to pay for my non-stop lifestyle somehow……

And paying for it I am. I think I have gout. Yeah, I’m only 29, but every time I have a big weekend involving lots of beer and fatty food I get a pain in my foot that spreads from my toes to my consume my whole foot. It makes it hard to walk and it usually take 4 or 5 days to settle down. My dad has gout and lucky me, I appear to have be given his dodgy genes.

Anyone have any good gout remedies? I am on detox today and drinking lots of water. Hopefully it will feel ok for me to play indoor cricket tonight, but somehow, I doubt it will get better. it’ll probably get worse during the day…

Anyway, enough of my whinging. Hope you had a good weekend dear reader….

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

Leave a Reply

