Film Review: Sin City

I liked it!
At first I was a bit worried that there was a thin story line and that it wasn’t going to suck me in, but boy was I wrong!

I loved the twisting and tying together of the storylines and the way the timeline is skewed back and forth. I think it was written very well, so well done to Frank Miller on that one.

The cinematography and ‘arty’ aspects of the movie were also damn good. I loved the scenes of Marv and Hartigan running through the forest. I loved the use of black and white and the occassional colour. I loved the rainy
scenes. I loved the bloody scenes, where you couldn’t see the red. I loved the cars ‘jumping’ down the road. I loved the scenes where it looked like a graphic novel, which is of course what they were trying to do!

And yes, Mickey Rourke was fantastic. So believable. Such a solid character, and he played it flawlessly. I was also sorta glad that I couldn’t tell it was him by looking at hime cause I have all these pre-conceived scenes of him from other movies (Harley Davidson and the Marlboro Man…shudder)

I really enjoyed Bruce Willis’ performance too. He’s an actor that really shines for me. Ok, maybe he doesn’t have the biggest range, but what he does, I think he does very well.

Overall, it was a very enjoyable movie I reckon. Lots of action. Lots of blood. Excellent narration (such sexy deep voices!). And it was a movie that I didn’t want to end.
I can’t really flaw any of the performances. Even Brittany Murphy did ok, and Benicio Del Toro was excellent.

I also found myself wishing that I had watched more Dark Angel to see Jessica Alba. (yow!)

It gets into my top 3 movies of the year so far…behind Batman Begins and Episode III.

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

Leave a Reply

