The Big Race

Only 3 days to go.

I am still trying to get my head around the fact that I am running a marathon on Sunday.
I think I am loopy.

Let’s go back 6 months. I did my first run with a pommy bloke from my old job, and it was probably about 4-5km and I was buggered. But it was a start.
After that I started to do the 5.8km run known as the ‘Lake Stakes’. It was an excellent way to get into running and build my fitness up. Doing that twice a week really gave me a kick-start and I was keen. Dead keen to do this running thing.
But still, I wasn’t sure that I could do it. A marathon?? 42.195km??

It started with about 7 of us who were keen to run it. Me, Stu, Simon, Art, JB, Quan, CoatC.
That number is down to 3. Stu, Simon and I have been running for the last few months pretty regularly, but I know that both of them are ahead of me in training and will definitely finish before me. It’s going to hard to watch them go ahead and be left behind and then have the motivation to keep going the whole way, knowing they are ahead and going to finish at least 30 minutes before me.

I am aiming for 4 and a half hours. That way I can be back at the start just in time for the 11:30 presentations.
It’s a freaking long time, and to just be on my feet for that long will be crazy enough, let along running.

I won’t run all the way. I know that I will have times where I will just have to stop and walk. I will try and do this at certain drink stations where I can have a drink, have a few deep breaths and then continue on my way, but bugger me, I know it’s going to be hard to run again after walking.

The map of the course looks like this:

I don’t know if any of you readers live near the course, but if any of you want to come down and give me a cheer, I would love it. Even if you just yelled out, “Go MICK!!”. I think I will need to distract myself as I run and to have something to look forward to to keep me going and get me back running again if I am walking.

This page has a heap of info about where spectators can go to watch the runners. Bowen Park is a good place to go because runners pass that mark 4 times (1, 10, 26 and 41km). It’ll be a good place to see me getting more and more buggered each time!

King Edward Terrace is also a good place to check us out. We pass there 4 times as well (3, 9, 24 and 39km). And you can pop into the Gallery and Library when you get bored 🙂

I will post my bib number when I get it on Saturday, but Stu and Simon already have theirs.

Other things you could yell out to me or other runners:

“Get your arse into gear , only 40kms to go!”
“Stop walking you slacker! They’re clearing the course behind you!”
“Want a Big Mac?”
“My grandmother runs faster than you!”
“Run, Forrest, Run!”
“If you get back to the finish line before I will take off my top!”
“Wanna lift?”

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

Leave a Reply

