Wave….paid.

Aaaah..it was a cracker weekend.

Except for the sport, but I’ll ignore that for now.

The best part of the weekend for me was listening to, and then watching Waveaid.
The Tsunami relief concert attracted some big big Australian artists, but the highlight for me was the reunited Midnight Oil.

I have always regretted not seeing them live when I had the chance, and this was a bit of atonement for that. Peter Garrett performed his legendary dancing technique from the get-go and the whole band seemed very comfortable on stage after so long out of the scene together.

Other highlights of the show were Powderfinger, who always perform well, and John Butler Trio were awesome, especially the bass solo in ‘Betterman’. Some sweet sweet music… (Pity the broadcast of the show chopped off their last song)

So, whilst Hewitt was getting cleaned off the court at Melbourne Park, and the Paki’s were reviving their finals chances in the VB Series, the concert went out with a bang as the Oils finished it off with ‘Best of Both Worlds’.

The sport didn’t seem to matter last night. The contribution that the musical community had just made (around 2 Million smackers) to the tsunami appeal made everything feel that little bit better.

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

Leave a Reply

