A New Festival – Cockatoo Island 2005

I wanted to go to the Big Day Out 2005. I am a BDO virgin, and I thought next year would be a perfect opportunity to go.

But no. The Sydney tickets are all sold out, and once again I have to settle with watching highlights on Channel V and hearing about it from friends who made the trip.

But….there’s a new festival, and maybe it’s a little bit more my speed, being the old person that I am.

It’s the Cockatoo Island Festival 2005.

Cockatoo Island is an island in the middle of Sydney Harbour, and there will be ferries going out to it, making transport pretty easy.

It’s on the Easter Long Weekend and the lineup that I have seen so far includes:
Gomez, The Waifs, The Beautiful Girls, New Buffalo, The Birds, The Herd (woo hoo!), (Canberra’s) Koolism, Tzu, Stiff Gins, Waiting for Guiness, Art of Fighting and Paul Dempsey (from Something for Kate)

Not bad! I am sure there are more as well, seeing as though there are multiple stages.

The Festival will also include the Sydney Writers Festival, the Mu-Meson Archives Cinema, Exhibitions and a kids area and circus!

Not bad for $130 for 3 days, plus $50 if you want to camp on the harbour…

I’d still love to go the Big Day Out, but for a mellow alternative, this sounds pretty awesome.

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

Leave a Reply

