Joey stays!

Andrew Johns is staying with Rugby League!
But gee’s, it looked like it was a close thing.
Weeks of speculation has ended, and he has resigned for 2 years with his beloved Newcastle Knights.
Now, anyone that watched the Footy Show last night would have seen him talking to Fatty, Sterlo and the boys, where he wouldn’t reveal what he was doing. All he would say is that there were challenges either way and he hadn’t yet decided.
But it was an emotional interview. I could see tears welling up in his brother Matthew’s eyes, and Paul ‘Chief’ Harrogan, who wears his heart on his sleeve was also quite emotional at the thought of losing one of the worlds best ever Rugby League players to Union.
I was almost convinced by the end of the interview that Johns was going to Union. The way his eyes were lowered. His responses. I thought, “Shit…he’s defecting!”

But he’s staying in the real game. The working class game. The only game.

Good on him. Here’s to at least another 2 years of watching a master at work.

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

Leave a Reply

