Rego Revenue Raisers

I just read today that there was a proposal by the ACT government to bring in a system where if you don’t register your car when it’s due and then register it a week, month or up to a year later, you have to backpay the rego to when it first expired.

WHAT THE?

Bloody revenue raising bastards here just want to suck more money from us. It’s not bad enough that they have almost doubled car registrations in the last 6-7 years. Now they just look for more ways that they can screw even more money out of us.

I remember a few years back when I went to transfer the rego on my car i bought off a friend. Because I didn’t do it within 14 days, I was slugged with a $100+ fine on top of the transfer fee.

Fortunately in this case, it appears the proposal was quashed and will not be brought in. I guess that means they’ll just raise rego costs again instead…..

About Mick

I've been around a while. I like to wrap myself around the warm security of the interwebs which have consumed me since 1993. I whinge, I rant, I crap on. Enjoy. View all posts by Mick

Leave a Reply

